What to Read Next? Here's a Book List Inspired by Sparta Chicks Radio - Sparta Chicks

What to Read Next? Here’s a Book List Inspired by Sparta Chicks Radio

Real Women Real Adventures

Nov 07
What to read next - Sparta Chicks

(c) Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

If you’ve listened to Sparta Chicks Radio for any length of time, you probably know this already - but I love reading!

Back in 2016, I put together a list of 9 books by strong women you'll love.

Then earlier this year I was asked for a 'reading list' of books that cover or address the topics we discuss on the podcast; everything from fear, self-doubt, the Imposter Complex, vulnerability and how to lead a braver life.  

So I sat down to compile a list of books - and here it is!

This list includes books written guests on the podcast, as well as other books on related topics - all of which I’ve read.

I’ve divided the list into books written by our podcast guests, then I’ve created different categories based on the themes we discuss on the podcast (and no doubt there'll be some crossover between categories).

A few caveats on this list: 

  • the 'wish list' are books I want to read, but haven’t. So I can’t vouch for them!
  • aside from my 'wish list’, I’ve only listed books I've read. 
  • all links to Book Depository (which is where I get my books) are affiliate links. Should you order a book using those link, I'll receive a small commission.
  • as I read books (in my wish list and otherwise), I’ll create a new category called ‘New Editions’. 

If you have any recommendations, let me know!

I'd love to read them and I'll add them to this post. Send me an email and let me know the name of the book and how you would explain the book to someone who has never heard of it!

Here we go!

Podcast Guests

Siri Lindley - Surfacing: From the Depths of Self-Doubt to Winning Big & Living Fearlessly | Book Depository | Amazon

Janine Shepherd - Defiant: A Broken Body is Not a Broken Person | Book Depository | Amazon

Natalie Cook - Go Girl: An Inspiring Journey from Bronze to Gold | website 

Alyssa Azar - The Girl Who Climbed Everest | Book Depository | Amazon

Melissa Browne: 

Dr Simon Marshall and Lesley Paterson - The Brave Athlete: Calm the Fuck Down and Rise to the Occasion | Book Depository | Amazon

Katee Pedicini - Healing the Grumpy Athlete (use the code SPARTA to get $10 off) | website

Margie Warrell - Make Your Mark | Book Depository | Amazon

Nadine Champion - 10 Seconds of Courage | Book Depository | Amazon

Tara Mohr - Playing Big: Find Your Voice, Your Vision & Make Things Happen | Book Depository | Amazon

Paul de Gelder - No Time For Fear: How a Shark Attack Survivor Beat the Odds | Book Depository | Amazon

Brad Stulberg & Steve Magness - Peak Performance: Elevate Your Game, Avoid Burnout, and Thrive with the New Science of Success | Book Depository | Amazon

Sam Lane  - Roar | Booktopia

Steph Lowe - The Real Food Athlete: Nutrition for Performance, Recovery, Fat Adaptation & Athletic Longevity | website 

Ali Hill -  Stand Out: A Real World Guide to Get Clear, Find Purpose & Become the Boss of Busy | Book Depository | Amazon

Lisa Bentley - An Unlikely Champion | website

Heather Hawkins - Adventurous Spirit | Book Depository | Amazon

On the Imposter Complex / Inner Critic

Go Girl: An Inspiring Journey from Bronze to Gold - Natalie Cook | website

Not Just Lucky - Jamila Rizvi | Book Depository | Amazon

Playing Big: Find Your Voice, Your Vision & Make Things Happen- Tara Mohr | Book Depository | Amazon

The Brave Athlete: Calm the Fuck Down and Rise to the Occasion - Dr Simon Marshall and Lesley Paterson | Book Depository | Amazon

Visualisation & other performance strategies

An Unlikely Champion - Lisa Bentley | website

Go Girl: An Inspiring Journey from Bronze to Gold - Natalie Cook | website

The Brave Athlete: Calm the Fuck Down and Rise to the Occasion - Dr Simon Marshall and Lesley Paterson | Book Depository | Amazon

Bravery + fear

10 Seconds of Courage - Nadine Champion | Book Depository | Amazon

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear - Elizabeth Gilbert | Book Depository | Amazon

Defiant: A Broken Body is Not a Broken Person - Janine Shepherd | Book Depository | Amazon

The Brave Athlete: Calm the Fuck Down and Rise to the Occasion - Dr Simon Marshall and Lesley Paterson | Book Depository | Amazon

The Gift of Asking - Kemi Nekvapil | website 

The Obstacle is the Way - Ryan Holiday | Book Depository | Amazon

Vulnerability + fear of not being ‘enough’

Braving the Wilderness: The Quest for True Belonging & the Courage to Stand Alone - Dr Brené Brown | Book Depository | Amazon

Daring Greatly: How the Courage to be Vulnerable Transforms the Way We Live, Love, Parent and Lead - Dr Brené Brown | Book Depository | Amazon

Rising Strong - Dr Brené Brown | Book Depository | Amazon

The Fictional Women - Tara Moss | Book Depository | Amazon

The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be & Embrace Who You Are - Dr Brené Brown | Book Depository | Amazon

Women's sports / women in sport

Eat. Sweat. Play: How Sport Can Change Our Lives - Anna Kessel | Book Depository | Amazon

Roar - Sam Lane | Booktopia

(Plus all the books here: 9 Books By Strong Women You’ll Love)

My 'wish list' 

(Some of it - in reality, it's much longer than this!) 

Becoming - Michelle Obama | Book Depository | Amazon

Can You Die of a Broken Heart? A Heart Surgeon's Insight into What Makes Us Tick - Dr Nikki Stamp | Book Depository | Amazon

Dare to Lead: Brave Work, Tough Conversations, Whole Hearts - Dr Brené Brown | Book Depository | Amazon

Daughters of Distance - Vanessa Runs | Book Depository | Amazon

Ego is the Enemy: The Fight to Master Our Greatest Opponent - Ryan Holiday | Book Depository | Amazon

Grit: Why Passion and Resilience Are the Secrets to Success - Angela Duckworth | Book Depository | Amazon

I Thought It Was Just Me (But It Wasn't): Making the Journey from 'What Will People Think' to 'I Am Enough' - Dr Brené Brown | Book Depository | Amazon

Let Your Mind Run: A Memoir of Thinking My Way to Victory - Deena Kastor | Book Depository | Amazon

Mindset: Changing The Way You Think to Fulfil Your Potential - Carol Dweck | Book Depository | Amazon

No Mud, No Lotus: The Art of Transforming Suffering - Thich Nhat Hanh | Book Depository | Amazon

Sisterhood in Sports: How Female Athletes Collaborate and Compete - Joan Steidinger - | Book Depository | Amazon

The Art of Fear: Why Conquering Fear Won't Work and What to Do Instead - Kristen Ulmer | Book Depository | Amazon

The Confidence Code: The Science and Art of Self-Assurance - Katty Kae | Book Depository | Amazon

The Confidence Gap - Russ Harris | Book Depository | Amazon

The Fear Cure: Cultivating Courage as Medicine for the Body, Mind and Soul - Lissa Rankin | Book Depository | Amazon

The Hormone Cure by - Sara Gottfried | Book Depository | Amazon

The Good Girl Stripped Bare - Tracey Spicer | Booktopia | Amazon

The Stories We Tell Ourselves: Stop Jumping to Conclusions - R. Scott Gornto | Book Depository | Amazon

The Woman’s Brain Book: How Your Life Shapes Your Brain and Your Brain Shapes Your Life - Dr Sarah McKay | Booktopia | Amazon (Note: this book was published in the UK under the title ‘Demystifying The Female Brain: A neuroscientist explores health, hormones and happiness’ | Book Depository | Amazon

We Should All Be Feminists - Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie | Book Depository | Amazon

Women Kind: Unlocking the Power of Women Supporting Women - Dr Kristin Ferguson and Catherine Fox | Book Depository | Amazon

Women Who Run with the Wolves - Clarissa Pinkola Estes | Book Depository | Amazon

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand in the Sun and Be Your Own Person - Shonda Rhimes | Book Depository | Amazon

Recommendations from the Sparta Chicks community ~ 

To add your recommendation, click here to send me an email and let me know:

  • The name of the book,
  • why you think it should be added and 
  • how you would explain the book to someone who has heard of it.

Happy reading!
Jen x